Sonny Assu

Sonny Assu

Sonny Assu (Ligwilda'xw of the Kwakwaka'wakw Nations)以其对原住民文化象征及流行文化的结合而被大众熟知。通过各种媒介,包括雕塑、绘画、版画、大型装置和艺术干预,Assu的作品与传统保持着深刻的联系,同时与当下时代的相关问题进行对话。
Assu的作品被许多重量级公共机构收藏,包括加拿大国家美术馆(渥太华)、安大略艺术馆(多伦多)、人类学博物馆(温哥华)和温哥华艺术馆。2021年,Assu获得了Eiteljorg当代艺术奖学金,该奖学金由印第安纳州印第安纳波利斯的Eiteljorg博物馆每两年颁发一次,该博物馆是享誉全球的原住民艺术收藏地。

View Work

Dempsey Bob

Dempsey Bob

Dempsey Bob是狼族的一位杰出的Tahltan and Tlingit艺术家。他出生于1948年,1969年开始在他最早的导师Freda Diesing指导下进行雕刻。Dempsey Bob的雕塑既传统又先锋,他将传统的叙事和图腾与当代的影响相融合。他的动态雕塑以高度生动的雕塑重新想象传统,承认他们所依赖的血统,同时融入了对雕塑的广阔视野和理解。

View Work

Bobbie Burgers

Bobbie Burgers

Bobbie Burgers对自然界中的腐烂、转变和蜕变过程感兴趣。她的作品具有独特的风格,将抽象与表现越来越多地融合在一起,汇集了本能的构图,同时揭示了她精确的观察能力。Burgers的画作因其构图节奏、大胆的色彩和横扫一切的笔触而引人注目,她的画作以一种诗意的、抽象的方式,将表达个人、主观和情感的基本追求带入了现实。

View Work

Kim Dorland

Kim Dorland

Kim Dorland的实践反映了对神秘的加拿大景观之迷恋,因它与当代城市体验相融合。Dorland所代表的心理氛围是对抗性的和幻觉性的,打破了自然世界常被赋予慰藉及沉思的传统观念。Dorland使用密集的色彩矩阵、疯狂的纹理和充满激情的绘画触感,带来了一种矛盾的位移感,艺术家与自然的关系同时是一种敬畏和恐惧。与此同时,当代城市生活的碎片以幽灵般的人物和涂鸦残余的形式出现。正是通过这些对决式的景观表现,Kim Dorland创造了一组被赋予了情感的作品,其潜力远远超过了画布的形式限制。

View Work

Marten Elder

Marten Elder

Marten Elder的摄影作品对数字和技术发展下的图像捕捉方式进行重新考量。通过对原始数据的仔细解读,Elder制作的照片打破了空间层次,在色调范围内具有强烈的活力。这些颜色初看起来是合成的,但它们都以相同的相对关系存在于这个世界上,正是这种对世界的表述让Elder非常感兴趣。

View Work

Gathie Falk

Gathie Falk

Gathie Falk的实践细致地将日常生活中的物体转化为不寻常的东西。通过各种艺术形式,包括行为艺术、雕塑、陶瓷、绘画和素描,她的作品给人以超现实和梦幻的感觉,将衣服、水果、植物、鞋子或棒球帽重塑为具有更深刻意义的物品。虽然这些物体很平常,但它们所携带的个人符号--而不是普遍观念--才是Falk感兴趣的。她的实践一直与超现实主义、Funk、Fluxus和波普艺术的传统保持一致,但这些影响很少是直接的。的确,Falk喜欢在矛盾的边缘探寻。

View Work

Angela Grossmann

Angela Grossmann

近四十年来,Angela Grossmann因其对身份、性别政治和流离失所等复杂问题的不懈探索而受到认可。她的绘画、拼贴画和混合媒体作品的主题在很大程度上参考了女性人物---她从收集的大量图像档案中挑选出来,这其中包括艺术历史参考、明信片及快照资料。Grossmann的人物描绘含括了从青春期到成熟期的阶段,充满了表现力、流动性及难以捉摸的特点,并揭示了外界与私人之间模糊和变化的界限。从大幅画作到精美尺寸,从美丽到崇高,从精致的素描和姿态绘画到不同身体部位的分层照片,Grossmann对身体表现的广泛探索不仅激活了社会和个人人类经验之间的空间,还揭示了她与艺术过程本身的感性和与不可预测的深度接触。

View Work

Adad Hannah

Adad Hannah

Adah Hannah通过精心制作的作品,包括装置、录像和摄影,探索历史上的尖锐主题。受历史上tableaux vivants(翻译为 "活的图片")的启发,Hannah的整体实践援引了早期电影的持续形式,同时也通过模仿绘画来参考早期的摄影作品。“时间”在汉娜的作品中占据了一个突出的位置,这是由Hannah对时间性及其与摄影和视频的复杂关系的持久兴趣所铸就的。Hannah通过模糊tableau及摄影之间的边界来推动“活的图片”之发展。

View Work

The Estate of Fred Herzog

The Estate of Fred Herzog

Fred Herzog于1930年出生在德国,1953年移民到不列颠哥伦比亚省的温哥华。在他的整个职业生涯中,他几乎只用柯达克罗姆胶片摄影,直到过去的十年中,打印技术才允许他制作与柯达克罗姆胶片的特殊颜色和饱和度相匹配的档案颜料打印。Herzog对色彩的使用在20世纪50年代和60年代是不寻常的,当时的艺术摄影几乎只涉及黑白图像。从这个角度,他的照片可以被看作是70年代 "新色彩 "摄影师的预演。

View Work

Shawn Hunt

Shawn Hunt

Shawn Hunt是出生于不列颠哥伦比亚省Bella Bella的Heiltsuk艺术家。Hunt的艺术实践受到他苏格兰、法国和原住民背景以及与之相伴的视觉文化和传统的影响。他采用传统的西北海岸设计原则,根据祖先的Heiltsuk宇宙学,创作抽象、超现实的艺术品,这些作品通常参考了当代原住民的生活。Hunt一直在寻求突破艺术形式的界限,并经常在他的作品中将非传统观念及材料和图案的创新使用相结合。

View Work

Sonny Assu

Sonny Assu

Sonny Assu (Ligwilda’xw of the Kwakwaka’wakw Nations) has been recognized for his mashups of Indigenous iconography and popular culture. Through a variety of mediums including sculpture, painting, prints, large-scale installations and interventions Assu’s work maintains a profound connection to past traditions while speaking to pertinent issues of our time.
Assu’s work is included in numerous major public collections, including the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa), Art Gallery of Ontario (Toronto), Museum of Anthropology (Vancouver), and the Vancouver Art Gallery.

View Work

Dempsey Bob

Dempsey Bob

Dempsey Bob is a distinguished Tahltan and Tlingit artist of the Wolf Clan. Born in 1948, he began carving in 1969 under the tutelage of Freda Diesing who was his earliest mentor and teacher. At once a traditionalist and vanguard, Dempsey Bob’s sculptures blend traditional narratives and iconography with contemporary influences. His dynamic sculptures re-imagine convention with highly animated sculptures that acknowledge the lineage to which they are indebted while incorporating an expansive view and understanding of sculpture.

View Work

Bobbie Burgers

Bobbie Burgers

Bobbie Burgers is interested in the process of decay, transformation, and metamorphosis in nature. With a distinct style that merges abstraction with representation in increasing degrees, her work brings together instinctive compositions while revealing her precise powers of observation. Remarkable for their compositional rhythms, bold coloration, and sweeping gestural brushstrokes, Burgers’ paintings bring alive the fundamental quest to express something personal, subjective and emotive, in a poetic, abstract way.

View Work

Kim Dorland

Kim Dorland

Kim Dorland’s practice reflects a fascination with the enigmatic Canadian landscape as it comes into contact with contemporary urban experience. The psychological atmosphere represented by Dorland is confrontational and hallucinatory, disrupting conventional ideas that the natural world is a place of solace and contemplation. Using a dense matrix of intense colours, delirious textures, and passionate painterly touch, Dorland brings a paradoxical sense of displacement in which the artist’s relationship with nature is simultaneously one of awe and fear. In parallel with this, fragments of contemporary urban life materialize themselves in the form of ghostly figures and graffiti remnants. It is through these dueling representations of the landscape that Kim Dorland has created a body of work endowed with an emotional charge whose potential far exceeds the formal confines of the canvas.

View Work

Marten Elder

Marten Elder

Marten Elder’s photographs offer a reconsideration of the way that images are captured in light of digital and technological developments. Through careful interpretation of the raw data, Elder produces photographs that disrupt spatial hierarchy and that are intensely vibrant in their tonal range. The colours may seem synthetic at first, but they all exist in the world in the same relative relationship to one another, and it is this representation of the world that is of great interest to Elder.

View Work

Gathie Falk

Gathie Falk

Gathie Falk’s practice meticulously transforms objects of everyday experience into extraordinary things. Working in a variety of media that includes performance art, sculpture, ceramics, painting and drawing, Falk has produced works that feel surreal and dreamlike, reinventing clothing, fruit, plants, shoes, or baseball caps into objects of much greater significance. Although these objects are relatable in their familiarity, it is the personal symbols they carry – not the universal – that are of interest to Falk. Her practice has been aligned with the traditions of Surrealism, Funk, Fluxus, and Pop Art, but the influences are rarely direct. Indeed, Falk is most comfortable when poised on the edge of contradictions.

View Work

Angela Grossmann

Angela Grossmann

For nearly four decades, Angela Grossmann has been recognized for her relentless probe into the complexities of identity, gender politics, and displacement. The subjects of her paintings, photo-based collages, and mixed-media works largely reference the female form, culled from a vast archive of images collected by the artist that includes art-historical references, postcards, and found snapshots.
Angela Grossmann lives and works in Vancouver, Canada.

View Work

Adad Hannah

Adad Hannah

Adad Hannah explores historically trenchant themes through elaborate bodies of work that include installation, video, and photography. Inspired by the historical practice of tableaux vivants (translated as “living pictures”), Hannah’s overall practice invokes the durational form of early cinema, while also making reference to early photography by mimicking paintings at a time when it was the very goal of photography to do so. Time occupies a prominent place in Hannah’s production, forged by a lasting interest in temporality and its complex relationship with photography and video. Hannah adds to this history by bridging, or blurring, the divide between the tableau in photography and its originating form as living, i.e., live picture. 

View Work

The Estate of Fred Herzog

The Estate of Fred Herzog

Fred Herzog was born in Germany in 1930, and immigrated to Vancouver, BC in 1953. Throughout his career he worked almost exclusively with Kodachrome slide film, and only in the past decade did technology allow him to make archival pigment prints that match the exceptional colour and intensity of the Kodachrome slide. Herzog’s use of colour was unusual in the 1950s and 60s, a time when art photography was almost exclusively associated with black and white imagery. In this respect, his photographs can be seen as a pre-figuration of the “New Colour” photographers of the 1970s.
CLICK HERE to see Fred Herzog featured in The New York Times.

View Work

Shawn Hunt

Shawn Hunt

Shawn Hunt is a Heiltsuk artist born in Waglisla (Bella Bella), British Columbia. Hunt’s practice is directly informed by his Scottish, French and First Nations background and the visual culture and traditions that accompany it. He works with the traditional Northwest Coast design principle, known as formline, to create abstract, surreal, and sculptural artworks based on ancestral Heiltsuk Cosmology that often reference contemporary aboriginal life. Hunt is always seeking to push the boundaries of the art form, often combining non-traditional ideas with innovative uses of materials and motifs in his work. 

View Work